Housecall Pro vs Workiz: which fits a small service business?
Updated Oct 10, 2026 · Prices and features from each vendor’s public pricing page · How we choose
Quick picks
- Housecall ProPublished entry price; flat-rate pricing on Essentials, service plans and proposals on MAX.Basic $59/mo billed annually (1 user) · other plans: check current priceTry Housecall Pro free →affiliate link
- WorkizQuickBooks sync and online booking on every plan; service plans, flat rate and proposals on Ultimate.Request pricing · 7-day free trial, no cardTry Workiz free →affiliate link
Ordered by fit for this page, not payout. Prices are the vendors’ listed prices, as checked Oct 10, 2026.
The short version
- Price you can see up front: Housecall Pro Basic is listed at $59/mo billed annually (1 user). Its Essentials and MAX prices depend on your industry and team size (check current price). Every Workiz plan says “Request pricing.”
- QuickBooks and online booking on the cheapest plan: Workiz lists both on Standard. Housecall Pro lists online booking on Basic but QuickBooks Online sync on Essentials.
- Maintenance plans, flat rate and proposals: Housecall Pro lists flat-rate pricing on Essentials and recurring service plans plus a sales proposal tool on MAX. Workiz lists all three on Ultimate.
- Phones: Workiz’s FAQ describes a built-in phone system, but its plan table marks Genius Phone “sold separately,” so ask what your quote includes. Housecall Pro lists Voice among its extra products.
As checked Oct 10, 2026 on Housecall Pro’s pricing page and Workiz’s pricing page. Both offer no-card trials: 14 days for Housecall Pro (on MAX) and 7 days for Workiz.
Try Housecall Pro free →Try Workiz free →affiliate link
Prices, as checked Oct 10, 2026
| Plan | Users | Listed price | Vendor notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Housecall Pro Basic | 1 included | $59/mo billed annually | Online booking, scheduling & dispatch, estimates, invoicing, payments |
| Housecall Pro Essentials | 5 included | Check current price | Adds routes, flat-rate pricing, QuickBooks Online sync |
| Housecall Pro MAX | 8 included, +$35/mo per extra user | Check current price | Adds sales proposals, recurring service plans, route optimization, open API |
| Workiz Standard | Not stated | Check current price (“Request pricing”) | “Best for: growing teams” |
| Workiz Pro | Not stated | Check current price (“Request pricing”) | “Best for: mid size team” |
| Workiz Ultimate | Not stated | Check current price (“Request pricing”) | “Best for: multi-location larger team & franchises” |
Sources: Housecall Pro pricing and Workiz pricing, as checked Oct 10, 2026. Housecall Pro’s FAQ says there are no long-term contracts. Workiz’s FAQ says annual plans save “$400+” compared with monthly billing. Card processing: Housecall Pro lists rates “as low as 2.59%” and 1% for bank payments; we didn’t see Workiz processing rates on its pricing page.
Features each vendor lists, by plan
Only what each company names on its own pricing page. “Listed” isn’t a test result.
| Feature | Housecall Pro | Workiz |
|---|---|---|
| Online booking | Listed on Basic | Listed on all plans (with optional checkout) |
| Estimates & invoicing | Listed on Basic | Listed on all plans (unlimited) |
| Price book | Basic | All plans |
| Flat-rate pricing | Essentials | Ultimate |
| Consumer financing | Every plan | All plans |
| QuickBooks Online | Essentials | All plans |
| Recurring work | Recurring service plans on MAX | Recurring jobs on all plans; service plans on Ultimate |
| Sales proposals (good/better/best) | Sales proposal tool on MAX | Ultimate |
| Job costing | Basic | Not named on pricing page |
| Checklists | Checklist automations on Essentials | Ultimate |
| Team location / GPS | Employee GPS tracking on Essentials | Team location tracking and fleet tracking on all plans |
| Route planning | Routes on Essentials; route optimization on MAX | Not named on pricing page |
| Commissions / performance pay | Commissions on Essentials | Performance pay on Pro |
| Automations | “AI team members” listed as included in every plan | 5 (Standard), 10 (Pro), 30 (Ultimate) |
| Inventory, equipment, multi-day jobs | Not named on plan cards | Ultimate |
| Subcontractor management | Not named on plan cards | All plans |
| Open API | MAX | Ultimate |
| Phone system | Voice listed as an extra product | FAQ describes a built-in phone system; plan table marks Genius Phone “sold separately” (ask) |
| Free trial | 14 days on MAX, no card | 7 days, no card |
Sources: the plan cards and FAQ on Housecall Pro’s pricing page and the plan comparison table and FAQ on Workiz’s pricing page, as checked Oct 10, 2026.
Solo vs small team
Just you
Housecall Pro Basic gives you a known price ($59/mo billed annually) with online booking, a price book, job costing and financing. With Workiz you’ll get a quote first. Its Standard plan lists QuickBooks, online booking and financing, so compare the quoted price with Housecall Pro Essentials if you need QuickBooks.
2–8 people
Housecall Pro spells out users: 5 on Essentials, 8 on MAX, then $35/mo each. Workiz doesn’t state user limits on its pricing page, so ask. For HVAC and plumbing shops selling maintenance plans, the fair comparison is Housecall Pro MAX vs Workiz Ultimate.
By trade
HVAC & plumbing
Maintenance agreements, flat rate and proposals decide it. Both list them on their top plans (MAX, Ultimate). See the HVAC & plumbing guide.
Handyman
Workiz lists subcontractor management and estimate deposits on every plan. Housecall Pro lists job costing and a price book on Basic. See the handyman guide.
Cleaning & pest
Housecall Pro has home-cleaning and pest control pages. We didn’t find either among Workiz’s industries (it lists carpet and window cleaning). See the pest control guide.
When to skip each one
Maybe skip Housecall Pro if…
you need QuickBooks, flat rate or service plans but don’t want to pay for Essentials or MAX, whose prices we couldn’t confirm without the pricing selector.
Maybe skip Workiz if…
you want a published price before talking to sales, you run a pest control or house-cleaning business (no industry page found), or you need service plans and proposals without the top plan.
Paying a crew? Payroll is usually separate.
Job apps track hours, but payroll and payroll taxes are normally handled by a payroll service. Gusto lists its Simple plan at $49/mo + $6/mo per person, as checked Oct 10, 2026 (source).
How we choose
How we choose. Our picks are based on each vendor’s public pricing page: listed prices, the features named for each plan, and plan limits such as included users. We haven’t run these products ourselves, so we describe features as “listed,” not tested, and we say when a price isn’t published. We rank by fit for your trade and team size, not by payout.
Read how we choose and our affiliate disclosure.
FAQs
Is Housecall Pro cheaper than Workiz?
We can’t say from public pages. Housecall Pro Basic is listed at $59/mo billed annually, but its other plans and all Workiz plans need a quote or a pricing selector. Get written quotes for the same team size and features.
Which is better for HVAC, Housecall Pro or Workiz?
Both list the HVAC basics on their top plans: flat rate, service plans and sales proposals (Housecall Pro MAX, Workiz Ultimate). Workiz lists QuickBooks Online sync on every plan. See the HVAC & plumbing guide for four more options.
Does Workiz sync with QuickBooks?
Yes. Workiz lists QuickBooks Online sync on every plan, and its FAQ describes automatic syncing of invoices, customers and payments.
Do they have free trials?
Yes. Housecall Pro offers 14 days of its MAX plan with no card, and Workiz offers 7 days with no card, per their pricing pages.
Does either require a contract?
Housecall Pro’s FAQ says no long-term contracts. Workiz’s FAQ describes discounted annual plans; confirm the terms of any quote you get.
Try Housecall Pro free →Try Workiz free →Take the 5-question quizaffiliate link